ADVERTISEMENT

BEST SURROUND SOUND.........................what do you guys suggest?

Michael.Felli

Mar 19, 2013
I've finally decided to update my 1980's 8-track surround sound, which simply means I have more than 2 speakers.

Anyway, some of you guys know your music (and sound). What do you have or what do you wish you had? Is BOSE worth the money? Anything you suggest cheaper than BOSE and better? I want TRUE surround sound.

The lava lamp stays, though.

Friends don't let friends buy Bose. I am a former home theater designer/ salesman and here's my opinion.
1) Buy a receiver with Dolby Atmos capability that can handle the new Ultra HD specs. They will run you between $600 and $3,000. You might as well get something that won't be outdated next year. Yamaha an Denon are my favorite brands.
2) Get a good subwoofer (or two) with at least a 10 inch driver. The most bang for the buck can be found from the brands SVS, Powersound Audio and HSU. They are internet direct companies with huge followings and generous in-home audition policies.
3) Get at least 7 speakers: A left, right and center that flank the TV, two side surrounds and two back surrounds that sit behind you. Try to keep them all in the same brand. You don't need huge towers because the subwoofer will handle the bass below 80HZ, but try not to go with tiny "Bose cube" speakers because they sound crappy. Polk Audio, Klipsch, SVS and Powersound Audio all make good bookshelve speakers or slim towers that will blow away Bose.

For more info,check out Crutchfield.com, SVSsound.com and Dolby.com.

Last edited:
I've finally decided to update my 1980's 8-track surround sound, which simply means I have more than 2 speakers.

Anyway, some of you guys know your music (and sound). What do you have or what do you wish you had? Is BOSE worth the money? Anything you suggest cheaper than BOSE and better? I want TRUE surround sound.