ADVERTISEMENT

biomedical engineering at PSU

PSU Soupy

Aug 3, 2008
Anybody on the all knowing board know about this program at PSU? My Daughter (from out of state) has been accepted at a number of schools throughout the Mid Atlantic and into the Southern Schools. She has always been a PSU fan and is visiting PSU today. She is really enjoying herself and my thought is that she will decide to enroll in the Fall at University Park.

She has been accepted at a number of schools for Pre Med, Physician Assistant schools and other medical based programs but she is very interested in PSU and very interested in the Biomedical Engineering Program. I am a 1987 grad of the Polymer Science Program in Earth and Mineral Science, and love PSU and know that my daughter will as well.

Question: for out of state tuition is this a good value? How long as there been a Biomedical Engineering Major? Is it well thought of?

My hope was for my daughter to play Lacrosse at a smaller division 1 or division 2 program and work towards getting into Medical School......no pressure there, I know.

She is a great kid, good student, very good athlete.

Any feedback appreciated....

PSU Soupy.

No idea but PSU will is expensive for out of state students. I'm also not sure about job prospects for biomedical engineering students. My son looked into that major a few years ago and schools were just introducing the major. I guess they're trying to blend medical with engineering but the programs were too new to tell about job placement statistics. I was worried that good jobs required a PHD.

Fenske Lab is going to be torn down and replaced with a new BioMed Engineering building. May not be done in time for your daughter or just in time for her last year if things go well, but it shows the commitment PSU is making to the program. That would indicate to me that the job prospects should be pretty good if the University is ramping up the major by building a major new building for it.