ADVERTISEMENT

OK....I've never done this before (OT)....

bjf1984

Sep 8, 2014
But I can't seem to find definitive information in my on-line searches.....so I will turn to the all-knowing board for some OT advice.

I want to set up a TV into a room that is not wired for cable TV (and would be a royal pain to get wired for cable).

My cable TV provider is COMCAST (I also have my cable internet through them - if that matters).

Is it reasonably possible to wall mount a TV in a non-wired room, and have it receive the cable TV signal wirelessly?
Do I need a certain "level" of TV?
What additional hardware would I need?
Is it expensive?
Is "reception" good?
Any comments on things to look out for?

I am a techno-illiterate, but I gotta' figure this is a pretty common issue.......so it must be doable

TIA

That's what she said.

On a more serious note, dirctv has wireless receivers and they work fairly well (I have two). Another option is to get a wireless signal sender and remote signal sender. I haven't messed with them for years but they were ok if you are set on keeping cable. You could also get a sling box (or equivalent) and put a basic computer with the TV. You could use your phone or iPad to control it. You have a plethora of options even beyond these.

I live in a market (Boston) where Comcast has introduced their "Cloud DVR" service with the X1 platform. As part of that, I can stream any live cable programming (including premium channels) on a phone, tablet or computer connected to my home network. I have done some streaming on my Macbook Pro and the picture quality has been quite good. I use a 32" TV as my second monitor on the laptop (connected by HDMI cable) and the picture looks good on full screen. I'm not a video expert but I haven't noticed a major difference in picture quality even when I am sitting pretty close to the screen. I don't know that the picture quality is equivalent to a DVR/cable box so it may not scale as well to a larger TV.