ADVERTISEMENT

Question for the board: Are hotel booking apps accurate?

Delcolion915

Mar 19, 2022
I need a hotel room, cheap, in early September for two nights. I have never used booking.com or hotels.com, etc. I downloaded the apps and they quoted a price for a cheap room at 70$ per night, then I called the hotel itself and they quoted twice as much and told me those apps like hotels.com are not accepted or accurate. I REALLY need the room, but can't pay twice as much, what should I do? Remember, I am not experienced with these things.

I need a hotel room, cheap, in early September for two nights. I have never used booking.com or hotels.com, etc. I downloaded the apps and they quoted a price for a cheap room at 70$ per night, then I called the hotel itself and they quoted twice as much and told me those apps like hotels.com are not accepted or accurate. I REALLY need the room, but can't pay twice as much, what should I do? Remember, I am not experienced with these things.
Buddy of mine recently booked through I believe hotels.com, drove hundreds of miles for his son's tournament week, and when he got there the hotel said that his reservation had been cancelled. The hotel blamed the website. The website said his reservation is valid and blamed the hotel. He was stuck finding a hole in the wall with no notice instead of enjoying their first evening at the site.

Likely the hotel was overbooked, and his reservation was cheaper than others. So, he got bumped.

I look on the app, select my hotel, then try to book it for the price or cheaper.

I have used those apps (mostly hotels.com) dozens of time with no issues. Of you pay right on the app, the hotel does not charge upon checking in.

One thing to be aware of is that if you stay more than 1 night you may have to switch rooms. Hotels.com will book based on any availability. I just stayed in wildwood and the hotel called me the next day to warn me we'd have to switch rooms mid-stay, which we did.

• Sad