ADVERTISEMENT

Who Is a PSU Engineering Alum?

AgSurfer

Aug 9, 2013
Just curious. Who are the people posting here that got an engineering degree at Penn State? I graduated with a BS in mechanical engineering in 1976 and I’m still working at stuff that’s way too interesting to retire.

revenge of the nerds 80s GIF

BSEE in 2002 and we also joked that engineering was pre-business. The junior year weed out classes were torture.... I still remember walking out of my ee350 final and there was a guy towards the front of the room crying. If I remember correctly only about 40 percent of the people who stayed in the class passed.

I went two years trying to be an Aerospace engineer, after failing physics, twice, I assumed I would not be the best engineer so I switched to Econ. My GPA did much better, along with my ability to graduate…..

Sounds like my adventure, although the killer for me was then Chem 13. What really didn't help was after getting C's in Math 161& 162, I really buckled down and had an "A" going into the 240 Final.

I got a stomach bug (real bug, not alcohol) in the final. I remember panicking because I couldn't concentrate and pretty soon I realized I was in danger of failing the class. I got the bare minimum done to pass-which I think was a 36, went outside, got the full effect of the bug and was relieved when the report card came in with a "D".

Once I started taking econ, I thought I'm home and I don't have to deal with what I thought was an endless array of incomprehensible mysteries like Euler's Identity.

Today, you can look up dozens of videos that demystify the damn thing.

BSME from ASU. I know it isn't PSU, but it is something.