ADVERTISEMENT

Will we see Porter, Washington, or Fashanu again this season?

Jerry

May 29, 2001
All three are likely 1st-2nd round draft guys with not a lot left to prove to the NFL.

To be clear, I have no idea nor any inside knowledge. The coach says he expects Porter at least back. But the argument against it and what's going through their heads is what happened to Blake Corum (Michigan) and Hendon Hooker (Tennessee) yesterday: big NFL paydays possibly put at risk...though Corum's current injury status is still unclear.

Hooker had worked himself up to probably the 2nd round. Corum was on a short list of Heisman hopefuls whose NFL size might be problematic but was still projected as a 2nd-3rd round pick.

Hey, don't shoot the messenger. This is simply the logic of where things stand now. You'll recall that half our starting D opted out of the bowl last year. So why should these three guys come back to play the last regular season game against the likes of 17-point underdog Michigan State...especially if they're thinking to sit out the bowl anyway.

Honestly, it's hard (at least for me) to blame the kids as much as I'd love to see them back on the field. In any case, it will be interesting to hear what Franklin says on the subject this Tuesday.

Hooker and Corum are much different situations. Both are on (well, Hooker was) playoff potential teams.

Our players have no conference title nor playoff hope. I doubt we see any of them again this year. If Washington's injury is serious, it probably causes him to return. He's not a 2nd round pick without a great combine. I don't think he has the physical attributes to have a great combine yet healthy.

Olu is a mystery. Anybody even know what his injury is? I'd hope his lack of games/age swings him back, but this feels like a first round flu holdout.

JPJ they say appendectomy, but if he doesn't play vs Sparty, I doubt he plays the bowl.