ADVERTISEMENT

Memorial Day

I am a vietnam vet. I served with the 1st infantry division sept 68 to sept 69
W132-1st-infantry-division-car-sticker-window-decal.jpg

Hey guys, who are veterans over here? Memorial Day is the commeration of all who have fallen for our country but I want to thank all of you veterans for your service.[/QUOTEProudly I can say that I am a 22 year A
I can proudly respond by telling everyone that I am a retired Air Force veteran of 22 years......sorely miss those days!!!

...U.S.Army Corps of Engineers ...
...1954-56...

...my older brother was shot down over Germany as a ball turret gunner on a
B-17 in 1945...

Andro, those ball turret guys had it tuff. Hey you, get in this ball of plastic sticking out of the belly of the plane and get into fire fights with Messerschmitts firing multiple high caliber machine guns. I know it's been many years but I still offer my condolences.

For anybody looking for something retrospective to watch this memorial day, check out this documentary free on youtube. It's called the Air War in HD. In my opinion, one of the best ever made about world war II aviation. It's about the Eighth Air Force and has some incredible footage and interviews including a particularly sad story about a ball turret gunner. Andro, I'm guessing your brother may very well have been part of one of the groups in the Eighth.

Last edited:
Reactions: Cali_Nittany
I want to thank all those who responded to my statement of service to our country. All I can say is "Wow, what a surprise!". I never expected anything like that. Secondly, I also want to thank all the other posters who indicated that they served our country. You are very much appreciated.

A humbling Memorial Day. Thank you to all who served.....in field and at home. Blessings to those who gave their all......to their families and loved ones.

Reactions: Cali_Nittany
FT...yes, he was with the 401st Bomb Group of the 8th Air Force...
...flew out of a little hilltop field at