ADVERTISEMENT

Good article on the State High program

Thank you posting the article. It brought back very fond memories for me. I attended State High and wrestled on the the team from 83-86. I never got close to wrestling a varsity match in my 3 years but I throughly enjoyed wrestling and the team comraudery. This won’t make some of you happy but I was a sophomore when Rob Koll was a senior. I still vividly remember his epic match against Mark Sidorick at PO on a Friday night. The place was packed and absolutely loud especially during the Koll/Sidorick match. I also remember his huge match against the Corl kid from Bellefonte.....unfortunately he got called for an illegal slam and Corl could not finish....Koll was hot! He won states that year and OW....no one scored a point on him during the tournament. We had a really strong team that year....the varsity went undefeated except tying Clearfield at Clearfield. We had a full JV team and they won most of their matches. Sometimes schools had so many wrestlers the coaches would agree to have an exhibition match for few a non jv wrestlers. I did get a few of those. Jeff Pifer...we graduated the same year....he was definitely a personality and fun to be around. He was a great leg rider. Before practice would start 3 or 4 us would taken on Galen McWilliams (assistant coach). He would always seem to get the upper hand!.....just got done looking at the old yearbook sports section. Remember those days and guys almost like it happened yesterday.

Last edited:
Do Cael and Casey and others associated with the PSU program have boys who will be wrestling for State College anytime soon?