ADVERTISEMENT

Interesting tidbit from CJF's radio show tonight....

I'm cautiously encouraged. I'll be ecstatic if he boards a plane from Athens, GA and mysteriously appears in State College, PA.

I figured he was in State College. When it said he addressed the team, I assumed it was in person.

I know Mac's father unfortunately passed away only days after our 2013 win over Wisconsin.

Definitely would welcome Mac back to the PSU family. He was great in his 2 years here. Great move by O'Brien to get him here.

OL situation reminds me of a little quip made by Lee Corso. As a young coach I was attending a clinic in Atlantic City and Corso, a clown even then was a clinician. I recall he said something like "the good news is that we have 27 lettermen returning from our 2-9 team. The bad news is we have 27 lettermen returning from a 2-9 team." If I recall correctly Indiana went 1-10 the following season.

Reactions: Ranger Dan
As I said in the off season, we lost our two best lineman from last year... how would anyone "expect" the OL to be better. It's one thing to hope, but for those PSU fans that were somehow convinced that Coach Hand, through some miraculous works of alchemy, was able to turn a few inexperienced, repurposed, and unathletic linemen into a reasonable facsimile of a Big Ten caliber offensive line. There was absolutely no evidence to support this happening. Now, I hope that the OL is better than the looked against Temple, and they could end up being somewhere above the worst OL in the Power Five conferences.

Of course, CJF is bringing in more/better talent, and getting the OL to execute at the level we expect in the years to come will not take miracles.

Reactions: Nittany Ziggy