ADVERTISEMENT

Football Kirk Herbstreit high on Penn State's chances to make the CFP

Allar - our golden boy 5 star. Let’s hope he has made a monumental jump from last season.

God Bless Herbie. He seems to frequently have a good word for us. Too bad we can't get past his alma mater.

Many around the national media have the B1G top 3 of OSU, Oregon and PSU and I have to agree. All 3 have realistic chances of making the 12-team Playoffs. I honestly believe the NC will end up being either Oregon or OSU - both are absolutely LOADED

Reactions: NedFromYork
I agree with everything in this thread except the Rutgers part. Their program is an absolute joke.

Lower the bar and give participation trophy to all..now I like Franklin's chances = Herbie's real thoughts.

We'll see. I've been listening to this tune for several years now
The difference this year is that there are more seats available for the tournament.

Having a new offensive and defensive coordinator installing new systems on both sides of the ball is variable that we all hope works to our benefit.

Everybody wants to make the playoff tournament. And be actually competitive once you get there.

Kirk Herbstreit on Pat McAfee Show mentions Penn State as a threat to make the College Football Playoff.

"I think in the Big Ten, if their quarterback can step up, Drew Allar and Penn State are always a threat. They are close."

I would rate the PSU game as Ohio State's 2nd toughest game, even exceeding Michigan. I only see Oregon as the tougher game.

Reactions: NedFromYork
No but they also never had this schedule
Remember he's not saying they'll make it. He's picking a long shot based on schedule not talent.

He is saying they could make it. This is his dark horse playoff pick.

They will not make it even with a soft schedule because the schedule is soft. They can't beat anyone good if they don't play anyone good.