ADVERTISEMENT

Florida State adding Alabama and Auburn. Penn State adds.....

Michael.Felli

Mar 19, 2013
...Akron
...Pitt
...Georgia State
...Kent State
...Appalachian State

Not to mention we get (ahem) mighty Buffalo and San Diego State THIS year.

Someone remind me, are we Penn State or aren't we? When I was a student we played Alabama, Miami, Notre Dame, Pitt (when they were good), Syracuse (when they were good). What the fvck happened?

While I agree......

Remember it takes two to tango and you are also dealing with a limited number weeks early in the year. And we have to find those good teams that want to play us and travel to PA. Let's face it a number of those Southern teams do not want to come this far north as their fans may not travel that well that far north or they don't see it beneficial for recruiting.

There are always exceptions, but we have to find teams that want to come here as well.

Just my rambling thoughts.

Some of those teams were added when the sanctions came down, I believe, and when we didn't have relief yet. We needed every cupcake we could get.

Also, back when we played most of those teams you mentioned, we were an independent (and some of them were too). We had much more flexibility in when we could schedule them. With conference games, we are limited. Besides, those teams were our current equivalent of Ohio State, Michigan, Michigan State, Wisconsin, Nebraska, etc. At the same time, we were playing (at the time) really crappy Rutgers, Temple, Maryland, Cincinnati (remember 81-0?), William & Mary (may have been 56-0), etc. teams. People forget we didn't play murders row back in the day.